Pandan pound cake

Hubby and I absolutely love pandan cakes.  My mum’s friend baked us a lovely pandan cake last year which we collected on the way to the airport. The cake was still warm when it went into the luggage, but thankfully survived the flight back to London. 

When I saw pandan cake on one of TFP’s posts recently, I was green with envy (no pun (dan) intended) and I knew I had to make my own cake.  I found some good recipes for pandan chiffon cake, but since I didn’t get to buy an angel tin cake, I scrapped the idea as I didn’t think I’d be able to pull off a chiffon cake in a regular cake tin.  I then had a brilliant idea (forgive me, I can be a tad slow sometimes) to google for pandan pound cake. I found a recipe from Simple Pleasures, and decided to give it a go.

The recipe was very easy to follow and as advised by Simple Pleasures, the cake isn’t sweet despite using 2 cups of castor sugar.  Diabetes runs in my family, so I was happy to stick to the recipe, but if you have a sweet tooth and good genes, feel free to add another 1/2 to 3/4 cups of sugar.  Here is the recipe, modified slightly, for ease of reference.  Credit to Simple Pleasures.

Ingredients:

  • 250g unsalted butter, softened
  • 2 cups of castor sugar
  • 5 medium eggs
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • 2 tsp pandan paste (I used bottled paste which I bought from an asian store)
  • 1/2 tsp pandan essence
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract (I added vanilla as I find it suppresses the smell of eggs. I’m weird like that)
  • 3 cups plain flour
  • 1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • a pinch of salt

Method

  1. Pre-heat the oven at 160 degrees celsius
  2. Grease and line a 10″ spring form pan
  3. Cream the butter and sugar in a bowl until pale and creamy
  4. Beat in the eggs, one at a time and add the vanilla extract
  5. In a separate bowl, mix the flour, baking powder, bicarbonate of soda and salt
  6. In a cup, mix the coconut milk with the pandan paste and essence
  7. Mix some of the flour into the creamed egg, alternating with the coconut milk
  8.  Pour the cake mix into the spring form pan
  9. Bake in the centre of the oven for 1 hour and 25 minutes
  10. Test the middle of the cake with a tooth pick to see if the cake is done
  11. Remove from the oven and leave to cool on a rack for 15 minutes
  12. Remove the spring form and leave to cool completely before serving

The cake was only slightly denser than a chiffon cake, and very tasty.  Hubby liked it, and I think I might bake it again in a few weeks’ time for St Patrick’s day.

After this, I may never buy a chiffon cake tin.

2 thoughts on “Pandan pound cake

Leave a Reply

