Rotunda Bar & Restaurant, Kings Place

Hubby and I went to a gig last night at Kings Place.   We decided for convenience sake to dine at the Rotunda Bar & Restaurant which is at the venue itself.  Unfortunately because it was gig night, the restaurant was fully booked but the lovely front of house person told us that we could sit in the bar area and order our food. 

We shared a carafe of Pinot Grigio – it was Friday night after all.   I find that I enjoy my wine better when paired with food rather than on its own.

We ordered our food from the pre-concert menu which was £13.50 for 1 course, £18.50 for 2 courses or £24.50 for 3 courses.  Seeing that we had an hour before the gig was due to start, we opted for 2 courses – main and dessert.

The photos are a bit blurry – I don’t normally do restaurant reviews – but I wanted to document our gig-night experience and you can’t leave out the food which makes up part of the overall experience.

I ordered parsley gnocchi served with rocket and sauce vierge.   The gnocchi was dense, not soft and pillowy, but it had a good flavour.  Again the portion wasn’t big, but I’ve learnt to expect that with set-meals.

The waiting staff were extremely busy which I suppose is typical on a gig-night.   We were about 20 minutes away from the start of the gig, so we asked for the bill when our desserts were served. 

Hubby’s choice was bread and butter pudding with custard.  Hubby found the custard extremely runny in texture, but he said it didn’t spoil the taste of the b&b pudding.

My choice was chocolate mousse.  I’m not a big fan of chocolate but the other options didn’t appeal to me.  The mousse was tasty served with 2 generous portions of shortbread which were short, sweet and crumbly.  Again, apologies for th blurry photo.  I was trying to be discreet and ended up with shaky hands.

The bill came to £60 for the above.  The bar itself is lovely with a view of the canal.  The staff were friendly.  However, I felt the food merely ticked the pre-concert requirement – we were 2 minutes away from the concert hall, we didn’t have to rush from one end of London to another, but £60 for mediocre food isn’t something I’d rush to pay anytime soon. 

 I’d come back for drinks, though.
Rotunda Bar & Restaurant on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

