Midweek dinner

I am taking a break from our holiday posts, but there’s plenty more to come.

I didn’t do much food shopping the week leading up to our holiday, which meant that we ended up eating out a lot. Although we enjoyed the food and drink whilst in Prague, I was missing home cooked food. Today was our first day back to work after having had 5 days off. I wanted to cook us something healthy and tasty for dinner. I decided seabass on a bed of puy lentils, served with courgettes and a tomato-olives salsa.

Ingredients:

2 fillets of sea bass – marinated in salt, pepper, paprika

3 courgettes – peeled into strips

For the Puy lentils

  • 150g puy lentils
  • Juice and zest of half a lemon
  • Olive oil
  • Salt and pepper

For the salsa

  • 1/2 dozen cherry tomatoes
  • 1 clove garlic – minced
  • 1 shallot – finely sliced
  • 1/2 dozen kalamata olives (pitted) – chopped

I followed the cooking instructions as per the back of the Puy lentils pack which was to cook the lentils in twice the amount of water. I added half a cube of vegetable stock and a pinch of salt to the water. I let it boil away for about 25 mins, drained the water and then dressed the lentils with  the lime juice and zest, and some olive oil.

The tomato and olive salsa was an experiment. I heated some olive oil in a pan and added the shallots and garlic. Once the aromatics started to colour (careful not to brown), I added the tomatoes and olives and a bit of water. I left it to cook for about 5 mins and removed the pan from the heat. Perhaps it was more a compote than salsa!

The courgette strips were cooked in olive oil for about 3 minutes and seasoned with salt and pepper.

Finally, I fried the sea bass in a bit of olive oil. I had planned to grill the fish on a griddle pan, but as was trying to work quickly to avoid the food going cold, I ended up using the frying pan instead as it was already on the stove!

I assembled our plates as follows: Bed of lentils, sea bass with crispy skin on the top, a generous serving of tomato olive salsa on the crispy skin, and courgettes and a slice of lemon on the side.

Wedb26 aug 09 dinner 004c

Hubby said that the meal was tasty and filling and he didn’t miss the carbs (rice/potatoes).

One thought on “Midweek dinner

  1. Pingback: Seared tuna steak and roasted courgette couscous « Chronicles of a cookbookworm

Leave a Reply

