Another anniversary and birthday meal

Although we celebrated our anniversary in Prague, we were back in London in time for the actual date, and also my birthday! Both of us had the day off, but nothing planned. I didn’t fancy spending the day in London, so we considered our options.

A few months ago, I found out about a lovely pub, The Nut Tree Inn in Murcott, that had been awarded a Michelin Star. Hubby looked up the location and figured that it would take about an hour and a bit to get there on the motorway. It was not too far from Bicester Village so there was the option to do a spot of shopping after lunch.

I rang the Nut Tree Inn to see if we could book a table for lunch. I was hoping that they would be able to squeeze us in without much notice, given that it was a weekday. Luck was on our side and we had a table booked for 1.30pm.  There was very little traffic on the road, and before we knew it, we were pulling into the car park located behind the pub at 1p.m.

 

 

28 aug 09 016

  
Our hostess greeted us and asked if we would like to order some drinks. Having arrived early, we expected to sit out in the garden to wait for our table. We were told that we could take our drinks to our table, but we would have to wait until 1.30p.m. to order our meals. We were shown to our table, which was by the window in the conservatory. There were 3 other tables in there, albeit bigger, and the pub was fairly busy for a weekday. 

Our waitress explained that there was a set lunch on offer as well – £15 for 2 courses and £18 for 3 courses. Hubby and I decided to choose from the ala carte menu. We settled on main and dessert as there was nothing on the list of starters that caught our fancy. For our main courses, hubby opted for Grilled fillet of Angus-Hereford beef with triple cooked chips, baked tomato, onion rings and tarragon butter. My choice was Risotto with wild mushroom and truffle.  After we ordered our food, our waitress brought us a basket of bread and a bottle of sparkling water which we ordered. There was a variety of bread but I can only recall 3: they were plain, olive and nutty. I liked the olive bread but stopped myself from having more than a slice.  The service was rather slow which we were forewarned by the hostess. I felt like we had to wait for more than 30 minutes for our food. One of our fellow diners in the conservatory appeared to be celebrating his birthday as well, as his guests presented him with cards and gifts.

Our food arrived after what seem like a long wait.

 28 aug 09 003

 28 aug 09 001

 

Hubby enjoyed the beef, which was cooked to a medium, and the trimmings. I had a taste of the meat and it was absolutely tender.  The chips were firm and the onion rings crispy. Hubby asked for a dollop of mustard on side.

My risotto was cooked al dente, and the flavours of the mushrooms and truffle were wonderfully earthy and very tasty. The parmesan cheese melted into the risotto and added to the texture and flavour of the meal. I’d go back for this dish any day!

Once our plates were cleared away, we ordered dessert – mango cheesecake with coconut ice cream for me, and sticky toffee pudding with apple tart and praline ice cream. The waitress commended us on our choices – apparently these were her 2 favourite desserts on the menu!

28 aug 09 005

 

I am normally not a fan of cheesecakes, but absolutely love mango and coconut. I was pleasantly surprised by this dish though as the cheesecake was very light with a gorgeous taste of mango, and the coconut ice cream complemented the cheesecake.  

28 aug 09 006

Hubby’s dessert of sticky toffee pudding was very rich and sweet. He enjoyed the ice cream but felt that he wouldn’t have missed the apple tart had they left it off his plate. Personally, I preferred the cheesecake on the day, but I wouldn’t hesitate to order the sticky toffee dish on a cold winter’s day. Hubby ordered a coffee after his dessert while I finished my glass of wine.

The birthday boy I mentioned earlier skipped dessert, however the waitress brought him a plate with a scoop of vanilla ice cream in the middle and the words Happy Birthday piped in chocolate around the plate.  It’s on the house, she said. I would have been very embarrassed had it been me. It certainly doesn’t compare to the cake that was presented to me at the Mandarin Oriental Prague!  No, we didn’t tell anyone at the Nut Tree Inn that it was our anniversary/my birthday. We had our moment in the limelight back in Prague, so we didn’t want to steal the birthday boy’s thunder.

The bill for 2 which included 3 glasses of wine, a bottle of sparkling water, 2 main courses and 2 desserts came to £75 (no service charge added), which I thought was very reasonable for where we were and what we had. 

I’ve since recommended this restaurant to work colleagues and friends!

Leave a Reply

