Roti canai it wasn’t….

Ever since the closure of Oriental City in mid June 2008, we’ve been wondering about the fate of the fantastic roti canai shop. I found out recently that they had set up shop in Willesden. So hubby and I took a drive down there 2 weeks ago but it was closed. I tried googling and found that they have a wall on facebook! Apparently they are closed for refurbishment. Not willing to settle for the frozen type roti canai you get in most Malaysian restaurants in London, I decided to make my own.

Most recipes I read online had eggs in them, so I left them out. I phoned my mum while the dough was resting, and she was fairly amused. She teased me that the roti might turn out hard, and she wasn’t too far off the mark.  I couldn’t for the life of me replicate the roti man’s actions when tossing the dough. Hubby tried, but gave up after punching the air out of the dough. I think we’ll have to keep practising, but here’s the recipe if you want to have a go anyway!

Ingredients

  • 1 cup plain flour
  • 1/2 cup water
  • a pinch of salt
  • 2 tbsp condensed milk
  • a knob of butter (couldn’t find margarine), softened
  • vegetable oil

Method

1. Mix the flour a salt in a bowl

2. Rub the butter into the flour

3. Add water to the flour in small quantities and knead into a dough

4. Leave dough to rest for 30 minutes

5. Knead dough with 1 tbsp of vegetable oil. Split into 6 little dough balls. Drop 1 tbsp of oil into the bowl and cover the top of the bowl with clingfilm. Leave to rest overnight.

sat 190909 020b

 6. Dust a clean surface with flour (I didn’t trust my kitchen top to be ultra clean, so I used my wooden chopping board instead).

7. Roll out a dough ball with the base of your palm, toss, fold and roll out again to create layers on your dough. (This didn’t work for me, I gave up and used my rolling pin instead)

8. Lightly grease a frying pan, and cook the rolled out dough

9. Serve roti with curry of your choice. Mine was kari ayam

 

One their own, the roti’s were slightly hard, but once they had soaked up some lovely curry, it was actually a pleasant dish. One thing’s for sure, it certainly beats frozen roti’s.

marshmallows 017b

One thought on “Roti canai it wasn’t….

  1. Pingback: Roti Canai « Chronicles of a cookbookworm

Leave a Reply

