Chicken Katsu Curry

I’m leaving home before the sun rises and finish my day long before the sun sets. My point and shoot doesn’t produce quality photos at night, but I don’t want this blog to be a weekend thing.

I made chicken katsu curry for dinner last night. I didn’t start dinner until 9pm as we had the builder in fixing the boiler. I didn’t have any panko crumbs, so I used normal breadcrumbs instead. I didn’t make enough though, so the photo below shows crumb-less chicken. I gave hubby the crispy chicken.

The sauce was out of a box.

Ingredients

  • A box of hot japanese curry
  • 2 baby potatoes, diced
  • 6 boneless chicken thighs
  • breadcrumbs from 4 slices of bread (toast, leave to cool, then blend using a processor)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • olive oil
  • 1 egg , beaten
  • 2 tbsp plain flour

Method

  1. Season the chicken thighs with salt and pepper
  2. Dust each chicken thigh with plain flour, dip into egg, toss into breadcrumbs until the chicken is fully coated
  3. Place on a baking tray (pre-greased with olive oil), and bake in the oven at 200 degrees celsius for 20 to 25 minutes
  4. Heat up the curry sauce and add the potatoes. Put the lid on the pot, and leave to simmer for 15 minutes until potatoes are cooked (alternatively, par boil the spuds, less cooking time in the curry)
  5. Once the chicken is cooked, slice and serve with rice. Pour the curry sauce over the chicken and rice
  6. I served my chicken katsu curry with omelette and green beans

Leave a Reply

