Flourless chocolate cake

Hubby finds it highly amusing that I’ve never really gone past the book cover of Curtis Stone’s ‘Cooking with Curtis’ which he and A gave me for Christmas, oh I don’t know, 5 years ago? Can you blame me? Have you seen cover?

Anyway, Curtis Stone appeared on 2 Masterchef Australia episodes which was shown here in the UK for the last 3 months or so. I figured it was time I flicked through the book to see what the recipes were like. I thought I’d try his flourless chocolate cake recipe. I’ve never baked a flourless cake before and so I wasn’t too sure whether the cake turned out right as it had the texture of mousse.  I baked it for 40 minutes as per the recipe, but I didn’t like the mousse texture so baked it for a further 20 minutes. The texture was better, albeit still mousse-like.

The taste was fantastic though, and I served the cake warm with vanilla ice cream.

 

Leave a Reply

