Weekend round-up

Hubby treated me to a lovely meal at L’Atelier de Joel Robuchon on Friday evening.  I was rather conscious of taking photos, so I took rather discreet snapshots of our food using my camera. The quality of the photos do not do the food any justice whatsoever. We were sat downstairs at the bar area where we watched the chefs at work.  We had a very friendly waiter who was happy to chat while serving our food. I had pan-fried gunard while hubby ordered steak served with potato gratin for our mains. Desserts of the day was pistachio ice-cream served with strawberry jelly. 

Portions weren’t massive and I have to admit that I did help myself to the breadrolls on this occasion. The food was very tasty, although hubby did find the meat tough at times.

We had friends S and A over for dinner on Saturday night. I cooked several dishes which I learnt at A’s workshops at Wholefood Harmony http://www.wholefoodharmony.com/ namely beetroot puree, bulghur wheat taboulleh, lentil and walnut paté, sweet potato cakes and courgette tagliatelli. I also made the Barefoot Contessa’s puy lentils, all of which were served with organic pan-fried salmon. For dessert, I modified another one of A’s recipe for apple tart. We had a lovely time catching up, and they were such good company.

Photos in the top row are from Robuchon’s, and the bottom row are from Saturday evening.

Here is a close-up of the apple tart as seen earlier this afternoon on hubby’s plate!

 

I have just spent the best part of my Sunday peeling wall-paper off one stubborn wall in our bedroom.  We have plenty of DIY to last us all of summer, but it gives us a sense of satisfaction to add our personal touch to our home.

Leave a Reply

