Chicken in 40 cloves of garlic

Yes, you read the title correctly. When I first read the recipe for chicken in 40 cloves of garlic in Ina Garten’s Barefoot in Paris, I had my doubts. The recipe calles for 8 pieces of chicken cooked in 3 whole head of garlic. As much as I like chicken, I am not a fan of left-over chicken, so I reduced the portion of the meat to just 2 pieces of chicken thighs just for dinner. I figured if 8 pieces of chicken called for 40 cloves of garlic, then I’d use 10 cloves for 2 pieces.  I count beans for a living so you could say that I never switch off.

 

The garlic was sweet and had lost its ‘garlicky-ness’ for want of a better word. The sauce was very creamy and complemented the chicken without overpowering it. I look forward to cooking the real chicken in 40 cloves of garlic when we have guests around next time.

Leave a Reply

