Diwali dinner 2010

I invited friends Ahmed, Mariam and their son Danyaal, as well as Scott and Anna (who run Wholefood Harmony) for Diwali dinner last night, our maiden cook-out in the newly refurbished kitchen. I mulled over the menu for weeks, and finally settled on the following:

Main courses and sides:

  • Lamb korma
  • Chicken curry
  • Bill Granger’s dhal
  • Fishcakes
  • Brocoli, carrot and baby corn ginger stir-fry
  • Tandoori chicken (bought from a local restaurant)
  • Basmati rice
  • Organic brown basmati rice

Desserts:

  • Pear and frangipane tart
  • Vegan plum and berry crumble
  • Retro melon balls

Apart from the cooking, the other big task before the evening started was to put the house back together. We had packed away the dining room and kitchen into the living room, the whole house was dusty from the building work and the new plastered walls in the kitchen and dining room needed painting. I left Hubby to do everything but the cooking.

I was very pleased with what he had done, and after I’d set the table, the room looked very pretty.

S&A brought me a bowl of apricots and nuts, a traditional Diwali offering, which I was very touched by.

The dhal turned out really well. Bill’s recipe is very simple and I had this dish done in 25 minutes.

The lamb and chicken were both halal, but I only ever buy from that butcher once a year. The lamb korma was lovely, but the meat was a bit tough, and I wondered if I unknowingly over-cooked it.

The chicken curry was mild (despite the chillies in them), coconut-y and quite more-ish.

The pear and frangipane tart was a hit with everyone. I still haven’t had a taste, but there’s some leftover and I will post the recipe later.

The vegan plum and berry crumble was made especially for Anna.  I was a bit apprehensive as I didn’t have a chance to do a test run before serving it up tonight but she gave it a thumbs up.  Recipe to follow later.

We had such a lovely evening catching up, the food turned out well, all of which made for a wonderful Diwali.  Now the big question is, anyone fancy coming over today as I have plenty of leftover curry!

2 thoughts on “Diwali dinner 2010

  1. Pingback: Pear and frangipane tart « Chronicles of a cookbookworm

  2. Pingback: 2010 – the highlights « Chronicles of a cookbookworm

Leave a Reply

