Cranberry sauce

I finished up at work for this side of Christmas today. Which means I can concentrate of baking and cooking tomorrow while Hubby tidies up the house ahead of Christmas day on Saturday.

I’ve never made cranberry sauce and thought I’d make it ahead of the meal on Saturday. I started off with Nigella’s recipe but the sauce turned out a bit bitter. I googled and found that this was quite common, although I couldn’t find a solution to fix it.  I decided to add some spices to the sauce, as per Sandra’s recipe at $120 food challenge and I think it tastes ok, but with a slight bitter aftertaste. I think I will serve the sauce nonetheless, fingers crossed it’ll taste better in 2 days’ time.  Here is a combination of the 2 recipes, modified slightly:

Ingredients:

  • 300g fresh cranberries
  • 130g – 150g caster sugar
  • 200ml water
  • 3 tbsp kirsh
  • zest and juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 1 1/2 star anise
  • 2 cardamon pods
  • 1 earl grey tea bag

Method

  1. Place the water, sugar and spices in a pot over a low heat and bring to the boil.  Let it simmer for 10 minutes
  2. Add the tea bag and leave it in for 2 minutes, and use a slotted spoon to remove the tea bag and spices
  3. Add the cranberries, lemon juice and zest and kirsh to the spiced sugar syrup
  4. Leave to cook for 10 – 12 minutes until the cranberries soften. Don’t worry if the mixture is too runny. The sauce will thicken as it cools
  5. Pour the sauce into an airtight container and chill in the fridge.  Can be used up to 5 days
Leave a Reply

