Irish stew

We had a lovely South Indian meal last night, and both fancied something stew-y today to give our systems a break from spicy food.  I suggested Irish stew, which Hubby liked the sound of.  I knew I was treading on dangerous territory as there is bound to be an aunt whose Irish stew was out of this world, but it was a risk I was willing to take.  I looked up several recipes online ranging from Rachel Allen’s to Richard Corrigan’s, and felt comfortable that this was a dish I cook for Sunday lunch. 

Ingredients:

  • 5 braised shallots
  • 1 large carrot, peeled and chopped into chunks
  • 1 parsnip (only as I had one in the fridge), peeled and chopped into chunks
  • 1 large and 1 medium potatoes, peeled and quartered
  • 400g stewing lamb, diced (I used lam steak which dried out a little)
  • 2 tbsp flour for dredging
  • 1 celery stalk, thinly sliced
  • 2 cloves of garlic, peeled
  • 1 spring rosemary
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 tbsp whole black peppercorns
  • 1 cup vegetable stock
  • 1/2 cup water
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 tbsp olive oil

Method

  1. Pre-heat oven at 180 degrees celsius
  2. Heat oil in an oven-proof casserole dish (which has a lid – you’ll need this later)
  3. Dredge diced lamb in flour and brown in the casserole dish for 2 minutes
  4. Remove lamb to a plate
  5. Pour 1/4 cup water into the casserole dish and scrap off the brown bits
  6. Place the lamb, vegetables (except braised onions), herbs, garlic and whole peppercorns into the casserole dish
  7. Cover with remaining water and stock, season with salt, put the lid on and leave to cook in the oven for 40 minutes
  8. Remove the dish from the oven, remove the lid and place braised shallots into the stew
  9. Place the lid back on and cook for a further 20 minutes
  10. Turn off the oven and leave the stew to sit for 15 to 20 minutes before serving
  11. I was going to serve the Irish stew with soda bread, but I couldn’t find them in Sainsbury’s and they had run out of buttermilk so I couldn’t make my own.  I served the stew with polenta instead, which was equally delicious

Hubby enjoyed the stew and the polenta, but I couldn’t help but think maybe he’s had better in Dublin…

One thought on “Irish stew

  1. Pingback: Apple Crostata « Chronicles of a cookbookworm

Leave a Reply

