Tasty Valentine’s dinner, but it wasn’t picture perfect

I got off work earlier than usual today, and planned a simple Valentine’s dinner for us both using good, fresh ingredients. I made leek and parsnip soup, followed by asparagus and wild mushroom risotto for main, and Eton Mess for dessert.  Dinner was quick and ready for Hubby by the time he got home.

Unfortunately, there’s something wrong with the lense on our 2-month old Canon 550D.  The battery on my Sony cybershot was flat so I ended up taking photos on my phone.  I don’t think the photos do the meal any justice, but seeing that Eton Mess is a family favourite, hopefully I’ll get to put up better photos when the lense is fixed.

The recipe for the leek and parsnip soup is from a recent Wholefood Harmony workshop.  The soup is sweet and hearty from the parsnips and needs very little seasoning.  Hubby loved it.

Seeing that it was Valentine’s after all, I added a good handful of grated parmesan and a knob of butter to the risotto for a touch of decadence.

I omitted strawberry puree from the Eton Mess – the strawberries were slightly dear in the shops today, and I wanted to eat them sliced/whole.  You could puree some strawberries and add to the cream. I whipped up 100ml double cream, crumbled some ready-made meringue nest and assembled the lot in my favourite martini glasses.  Delicious!

I didn’t think I’d be able to pull-off a 3 course meal within an hour on a Monday night.  Although each course was simple, the flavours were lovely thanks to the fresh ingredients – parsnips in the soup, asparagus in the risotto, and of course, the juicy strawberries in the Eton Mess. 

Happy Valentine’s, Hubby, here’s to many more good ones.

Leave a Reply

