Eggs benedict

I was left with some egg yolks to use up after making the pavlova yesterday.  I’ve often mentioned here on the blog that I’m not a fan of eggs.  While I don’t mind the egg whites, it’s the yolk I have a problem with.  In any case, since I started this blog, I’ve been on a mission to overcome my dislike for eggs – yolks in particular.  So for brunch, I set myself the challenge of making Eggs Benedict for Hubby.  I didn’t really have much to serve it with except for bread, which Hubby was ok with.  With the benefit of hindsight, I would have bought some smoked salmon, english muffin, rocket and asparagus to complete the meal.

I used a recipe for the Hollandaise sauce from a Masterchef Australia masterclass. I have seen many disastrous hollandaise sauces on the show, and prayed that my debut would be a success.  Here is the recipe for ease of reference, modified slightly.

Ingredients:

A) Reduction

  • 1 shallot, finely sliced
  • 4 tbsp white wine vinegar
  • 1 tbsp water
  • 3 black peppercorns
  • 1 bay leave

B) Poached eggs

  • 2 eggs
  • a saucepan full of boiling water

C) Hollandaise

  • 5 medium egg yolks
  • 1 tbsp warm water
  • 1 – 2 tbsp of the vinegar reduction (minutes shallots, peppercorns, herb)
  • 100g clarified butter
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 pieces of bread, toasted

Method

  1. Bring the shallots, vinegar, peppercorns and bay leave to boil, reduce the heat and leave to simmer until the liquid has reduced to 2 tbsp
  2. To make the poached eggs, fill some water in a saucepan and bring to a boil
  3. Once the water is boiling, turn off the heat. Gently break the eggs into the water and put the lid on
  4. The residual heat will cook the eggs. If you want the yolks runny, around 5 minutes should do it. Remove the eggs onto a warm plate with a slotted spoon
  5. Boil some water in a pot.  Put the yolks in a bowl and place the bowl over the boiling water
  6. Add water and the vinegar reduction to the yolks and whisk over the boiling water until the mixture thickens (this should take about 4 – 5 minutes)
  7. Turn off the heat, and slowly pour in the clarified butter while whisking until the mixture thickens (another 2 – 3 minutes)
  8. You can put the hollandaise through a sieve, or skip this step, and season with salt and pepper
  9. Place the eggs on the toasted bread and pour the hollandaise sauce over them

Hubby enjoyed his eggs benedict, and assured me that he was happy for them to be served on toast and nothing else.  The hollandaise sauce was well season, but I would have preferred it to be paler.  Not bad for a first effort, and I actually can’t wait to try it again.

Leave a Reply

