Vegetable plot – update

When we came back from our holiday in Australia, the weather in London had improved and it gave us the nudge we needed to make me a vegetable plot.  This wasn’t an easy task, as there were mounts of muck which needed digging and levelling out, as highlighted in this post.  

Last Saturday, Hubby did the last of the (big) digging, and we levelled out the ground for the second vegetable plot. Following several trips to Homebase and garden centres, I’ve almost filled up the new plot with seedlings. 

We now have strawberries, courgettes (yellow and green), bok choy, rocket, purple sprouting broccoli, broad beans, green beans, butternut squash, spinach, curly kale, broccoli, spring onions, okra, golden and plum tomatoes and savoy cabbage. I have chilli seedlings growing on my window sill, mixed lettuce seedlings, mint, thyme, tarragon, rosemary and lavender growing in separate troughs near the french doors.  I am aware that some of the plants will not live to see harvest, but it is worth a try.

Here’s the first vegetable plot…

And the new plot…

Last Friday, I harvested some bok choy which I steamed and served with oyster sauce.

We’ve also had some of the rocket leaves in a couscous salad.   I never thought I’d get so much satisfaction out of growing my own food, rushing home from work every evening to water the plants, talk to them and encourage them to grow (grow my lettuce leaves, grow) – yes, I am weird like that, buying heavily discounted seedlings with the hope of resurrecting them,  spending all our weekends in the garden…. things that I never thought were possible when we were living in our dinky little shoe box in Zone 2.

Fingers crossed that the new seedlings will grow, and we’ll get to harvest some good vegetables over the course of the summer.

Leave a Reply

