Fruit rojak (Rojak buah)

Fruit rojak is a fruit salad served with a delicious sauce which can taste fishy to the uninitiated.  It can be served as a dish on its own, a snack, or as a palette cleanser at the end of a meal. 

The best ever rojak I had tasted was from a hawker stall in Guerney Drive, Penang.   I’ve tasted rojaks in Ipoh, KL, Singapore and Jakarta which have come very close in flavour, and it is a dish I tend to seek whenever I head home.

I’ve made it at home with shop-bought rojak sauce, but I think I’m going off gloopy textures.  I decided to make my own sauce this evening – it is nowhere close to the lovely taste I had in Guerney Drive, but it was satisfying and brought me just that bit closer to home.  I find the sauce lends its flavour well to tropical fruits, although I was tempted to slice up the lonely pear in my fruit bowl! 

Rojak sauce

Ingredients:

  • 4 tbsp kicap manis (dark sauce)
  • 1 tbsp ketchup
  • 1/2 tbsp chilli sauce
  • a pinch of shrimp paste
  • 1/4 red chilli, thinly sliced
  • 2 tbsp caster sugar
  • 1 tsp palm sugar
  • 2 tbsp sesame seeds, toasted
  • 2 tbsp honey roasted peanuts, roughly chopped

Fruit mix

  • 1/4 cucumber, de-seeded and cut into chunks
  • 1/2 ripe mango, sliced
  • 1/2 can pineapple chunks (I find the fresh variety a bit too tangy)
  • a handful of chopped mint
  • 1/2 juicy, fresh lime

Method

  1. For the rojak sauce, mix the kicap manis, shrimp paste, ketchup, chilli sauce, caster sugar and palm sugar in a bowl
  2. Toss in the fruits and leave to marinade for 10 minutes in the fridge
  3. Remove the bowl from the fridge and add a good squeeze of lime juice to the fruits
  4. Garnish with chilli, sesame seeds, chopped peanuts and mint before serving

 

2 thoughts on “Fruit rojak (Rojak buah)

Leave a Reply

