Sambal terung (Spicey aubergine)

I try not to eat night shades too often – it doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy them.  On the contrary, I don’t eat them often as I enjoy them too much!  I had an asian aubergine leftover in the fridge, and I decided to make a quick sambal or spicy sauce with it.  I had chilli paste handy in a jar – or you could make your own which doesn’t take too long.

Ingredients:

  • 1 red onion, sliced
  • 2 tbsp chilli paste (or blend 2 chilli, 1 inch ginger, 1 clove of garlic, 1 shallot with 2 tbsp water)
  • 1 long asian aubergine, sliced
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 2 tbsp tamarind juice
  • 1 tbsp fried anchovies (ikan bilis) – optional
  • salt and sugar to taste

Method

  1. Heat oil in a pan
  2. Fry the onions for 1 minute, then add in the chilli paste and fry for 5 minutes over low heat
  3. Add in the aubergine, water and tamarind juice and leave to cook for 20 minutes until the aubergine is soft
  4. Add in the ikan bilis,  and season with salt and sugar as necessary
  5. I served it as a side dish with dhal an brown basmati rice

Leave a Reply

