Noodle soup

One of the dishes I cooked at a recent Wholefood Harmony workshop is a Shoyu Noodle soup.  I couldn’t wait to recreate it at home – and I added some extra ingredients to make it into a one pot meal.  Thanks for the recipe Anna.

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups of water
  • 1 tbsp sea-vegetable – wakame/kombu
  • 3 shiitake mushrooms, sliced
  • 2 small carrots, sliced into discs
  • 1 serving of dried rice noodles
  • 1 handful of chopped bok choy
  • 1 tofu, cubed
  • 2 tbsp ginger juice (you’ll need about 2 inch ginger, peeled and grated, squeeze out the juice)
  • 3 to 4 tables of tamari (I didn’t have shoyu)
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • a handful of chopped spring onions

Method

  1. Heat water in a big pot with the sea vegetable
  2. Once water boils, add the shiitake and carrots. Leave to cook for 5 minutes
  3. Add the rice noodles and bring to a boil – the noodles should cook in about 4 minutes or so
  4. Add the bok choy, tofu, ginger juice and tamari and leave to cook for 2 minutes
  5. Finally, add the lemon juice and garnish with spring onions before serving

I had this soup when I was feeling tired – the ginger is a brilliant pick-me-up and as there is no oil in the soup, it made me feel absolutely virtuous.   You could add strips of chicken if you fancy some meat in you broth (chicken noodle soup), and I can definitely see myself making this again for a quick weekday dinner.

 

Leave a Reply

