Cinnamon pear cake

I ordered some pears through Ocado which were delivered last Friday.   The only problem was, I sort of lost interest in food this weekend.  All I ate was junk food. 

I didn’t want the pears to go off, so I looked through my cookbooks and googled recipes online.  I’ve recently taken a liking to Nigel Slater’s recipes.  I found a Cinnamon pear cake, and omitted the vanilla fudge sauce.   The cake was simple enough to bake, but I rushed to get the cake out of the tin before it cooled off completely – we were fast losing daylight and I wanted to take a snapshot of a slice of the cake before it got dark.

The cake was very moist when I took the photo, and I was afraid that it may even be uncooked.  However after letting the cake cool off, the texture was much more solid, and yes, the cake was cooked.

Here is the recipe for ease of reference, modified slightly.

Ingredients:

A) Pears

  • 4 pears, peeled and diced (mine were conference pears)
  • 1/2 lemon
  • 40g butter
  • 3 tbsp muscovado sugar (I used demerara)
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

Method

  1. Place pear chunks in a bowl, fill up with water and squeeze with lemon juice to prevent from turning brown
  2. Place butter, sugar and cinnamon in a pan
  3. Once the mixture has melted, add the pears into the pot and stir well over a medium heat
  4. Coat the pears with the syrup and remove from the heat after 6 – 8 minutes (make sure syrup doesn’t burn)
  5. Leave to cool

B) Cake

Ingredients

  1. 200g butter, softened
  2. 200g caster sugar
  3. 3 eggs, beaten slightly with 1 tbsp vanilla (the latter isn’t in the original recipe)
  4. 200g self-raising flour
  5. 1/2 tsp baking powder

Method

  1. Pre-heat the oven at 165 degrees celsius
  2. Grease and line and 9″ springform pan
  3. Cream the butter and sugar until the mixture turns white
  4. Alternative between adding the eggs and flour
  5. Fold in the pears and syrup
  6. Pour the batter into the springform pan
  7. Bake for 40 minutes.  Insert a skewer into the cake to test if it is cooked (I ended up baking mine for 1 hour)
  8. Serve on its own, or with cream, ice cream or vanilla fudge as per the original recipe

The cake is sweet, moist and very more-ish.  We had a few slices between us this evening.  Definitely a keeper. 

Leave a Reply

