Choc fudge cake

My friend who was my bridesmaid, E and I email each other on a regular basis.   Last Monday,  she excitedly wrote that she baked Jamie Oliver’s choc fudge cake over the weekend and it was an instant hit.  You’d notice that chocolate hardly appears on this blog.  I am not a big chocolate fan, although my other half makes up for it.  I do like the occasional choc fudge cake, and since I was entertaining friends the following Saturday, I asked E to email me the recipe

This is a very easy cake to make, although there is a risk of over-baking and the cake losing it’s goey-ness.  I baked mine for 20 minutes instead of 18, and it was perfect.  You will need a food processor.  I don’t have one, and used my juicer instead and it worked out fine.

Here is the recipe for ease of reference.

Ingredients:

  • 200g dark chocolate (70% cocoa solids)
  • 175g unsalted butter (softened), plus extra for greasing
  • 120g soft brown sugar (I used demerara sugar)
  • 100g blanched almonds
  • 2 tbsp good quality cocoa powder
  • a pinch of salt
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla (not in original recipe)
  • 150g self raising flour (I used 150g plain + 1 tsp baking powder)
  • 100g fudge (chilled in the fridge)

Method

  1. Pre-heat the oven at 165 degrees celsius
  2. Grease and line a 9″ springform pan (recipe calls for baking dish)
  3. Use a rolling pin to break up the chocolate while still in their packaging
  4. Place the chocolate pieces in a food processor along with the butter, sugar, 1 tbsp of the cocoa powder and salt
  5. Blend until smooth
  6. Break in the eggs one at a time, and add the vanilla, flour and baking powder
  7. Blend until combined
  8. Sprinkle the remaining cocoa powder into the cake tin, shaking off excess
  9. Pour the batter into the cake tin
  10. Break the fudge using a rolling pin while still in their wrappers
  11. Spring the fudge over the batter and push the larger pieces into the batter
  12. Bake for 18 to 20 minutes
  13. Leave to cool in the tin for 20 minutes
  14. Remove from the tin and serve with vanilla ice cream

 

One thought on “Choc fudge cake

  1. Pingback: Harvest dinner party | Chronicles of a cookbookworm

Leave a Reply

