Diwali party

Hubby and I invited some friends over for a Diwali dinner party last night.  I took Friday off and started cooking right after my driving lesson.  This was my menu (photos recycled from old posts):

Curries:

1) Dhal

2) Massaman curry (chicken)

3) Cambodian curry (butternut squash, aubergine)

Side dishes:

1) Mixed vegetables and ginger stir-fry

2) Fish cakes

3) Take-out Tandoori Chicken

4) Pineapple, cucumber and tomato salad with store-bought satay sauce

5) Roti Canai

6) Steamed and brown basmati rice

Desserts:

1) Apple slice

2) Vegan fruit crumble

3) Nectarine and almond tart

My lovely friend Anna from Wholefood Harmony brought a platter of courgette fritters which went down a treat.  We were so keen to tuck in that we forgot to snap photos!

A good night was had – thankfully the meal came together.  We did have some food leftover which made for a hearty lunch and dinner.  I suspect this may be my last dinner party for 2011 and if it turns out to be so, then I’d like to think we ended on a high note.

Leave a Reply

