Learning to drive – lesson#14

Parallel parking.  OMG.

  1. Pull up beside a car, mirror to mirror
  2. Put car in reverse
  3. All around observation
  4. Turn wheel once to the left and reverse slowly in. 
  5. Check left wing mirror until you see a big slice of pizza form by the car, curb and road
  6. Stop
  7. Turn the wheel once to the right and reverse in until the big pizza becomes a small pizza
  8. When a small pizza forms between the car, curb and road, turn the wheel  once more to the right
  9. Reverse into the space until your car is parallel to the curb
  10. Turn the wheel once to the left and reverse to straighten the car
  11. Done

Supposedly. Except I made a dog’s dinner of my parallel parking attempts.  The roads started to get busy as well and that didn’t help my nerves.

My instructor said that I drive too close to the cars parked on my left which made me even more nervous. 

Next week’s lessons are at 8.30 (Sat) and 9 (Sun).  Unfortunately, I’m not the one who pitches up late for lessons.

Leave a Reply

