French onion soup

Hubby, if you’re reading this post, I’ve made french onion soup!

Today was meant to be a nice, relaxing day.  Instead, it’s turned into a nice, but extremely busy day.   My plan to stay in my PJs went out the window when I realised I had no butter to add into my Christmas pudding (which is still steaming away).

I had a bag of onions in the fridge which I have yet to make a dent in.   I decided to make French Onion soup.  Here is my take on the recipe.

Serves 2

Ingredients:

  • 3 large yellow onions, peeled and finely sliced
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • sea salt
  • 1 litre water
  • 2 oxo stock cubes (I used chicken)
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 4 tbsp marsala wine
  • pepper to taste
  • croutons
  • a handful of grated cheddar

Method

  1. Heat oil in a large pot
  2. Sweat the onions in the oil with a 1/2 tsp sea salt
  3. Leave the onions to cook over low heat for 20 to 25 minutes until they are brown and caramelised.  Stir occasionally and watch the onions so that they don’t burn
  4. Once the onions are caramelised, pour in the water, crumble in the stock cubes, add the bay leaves and pour in the Marsala wine (I know this doesn’t make it French)
  5. Leave to cook for 20 minutes
  6. Season with salt and pepper
  7. Turn on the grill in your own
  8. Place croutons on a baking tray and scatter with cheese
  9. Grill for 2- 3 minutes or until the cheese melts
  10. To serve,  ladle soup in a bowl and place 2 cheesy croutons on top of the soup

 

Leave a Reply

