Learning to drive – lesson #18

It was a bright start to the morning, albeit blustery.  I knew we were going to practice manoeuver today.  I can’t say I was terribly excited. 

We drove into a supermarket car park.  First up, bay parking.  My first effort was good.  Pull up to my line of reference – the right door handle being parallel to the outer white line of a bay.  Count 3 bays back.  Position, observation and reverse while locking the car completely to the right and get the car into the bay (between the lines).  Once the car is in, straighten the wheel and complete the reverse.

I then drove away out of the car park and into a housing estate.  Next up was parallel parking.  I almost got my turn wrong.  Park beside a car.  Position, observation and manoeuver.  Put car into reverse. Turn the wheel once to the left and reverse until you see a big pizza slice form on the left wing mirror.  Turn the wheel once to the right and reverse in until the pizza slice turns into a smaller slice.  Turn the wheel once more to the right and reverse the car into a parallel position to the curb.  Turn the wheel once to the left to straight the car and complete the reverse.

I then attempted a turn in the road, and that was alright as well, except I kept dry-steering before putting the car into gear.

The final manoeuver was a reverse around a corner which was a new one for me.  The first corner was a wide one.   I reversed in a straight line until I saw the curve of the curb.  I then turned the wheel 360 degrees to the left and reversed the car slowly around the corner.  As I saw the car getting closer to the curb, I turned the wheel 360 degrees to the right to straighten the car and reversed back about 3 car lengths from the giveway line.

The second corner I turned was a sharp one, therefore I was to lock the car fully to the left and started reversing slowly.  As I approved the curb, I turned the wheel to the right to keep away from the curb and straighten the car as necessary.

This is going to a difficult one to navigate as the rules aren’t as clear cut as bay or parallel parking.

Leave a Reply

