A take on General Tso’s Chicken

I’ve read about General Tso’s Chicken in numerous blogs and I was very keen to try out the dish for myself.   I came across a recipe, which I tried to stick to as best as I could.  I didn’t marinade the chicken in egg whites.  I am not a fan of eggs to begin with and I try to use them whole.  I don’t mind egg whites so much, but I gag at the sight of a yolk.  So I skipped the egg whites. 

I also didn’t deep fry the chicken – I try to use Fry Lite or a max of 3 tbsp of oil, but no more.   So, the chicken didn’t have a crunchy coating.

I also had some shiitake mushrooms in the fridge which I decided to toss in as well, deviating further from the original recipe.  However, this dish turned out to be tasty and very easy to make.  Definitely one to add to the quick and hassle-free repertoire.

Credit to appetiteforchina.com for the recipe.  Here is my modified take on the General Tso’s Chicken:

Ingredients: (serves 1 – Hubby had salmon for dinner)

A) Chicken and marinade

  • 2 chicken thighs (mine were on the bone), each piece chopped in half
  • 1 tbsp dark soy
  • 1 tbsp Chinese rice wine

B) Sauce

  • 1/4 cup chicken stock
  • 1 tbsp tomato paste
  • 1 tbsp dark soy
  • 1 tbsp sherry vinegar
  • 1 tsp chilli sauce
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp corn flour

C) Aromatics etc

  • 1 tbsp corn flour
  • a pinch of salt
  • a pinch of ground white pepper
  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 3 dried chillies
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • a handful of chopped shiitake mushrooms
  • 1 tsp sesame seed (toasted)

Method

  1. Marinade the chicken with soy and rice wine for 10 minutes
  2. Mix all the ingredients for the sauce in a bowl and set aside
  3. Season the chicken with salt and pepper and coat with corn flour
  4. Heat oil in a wok and once hot, fry the chicken for 3 minutes on either side until golden brown
  5. Remove to a plate
  6. Drain any excess oil into a bowl and leave oil about 1/2 tsp of oil in the wok
  7. Fry the dried chillies for 2 minutes and the add the minced garlic.  Stir for 10 seconds before adding in the mushrooms
  8. Pour the sauce (step 2) into the bowl and bring to a boil (less than a minute)
  9. Transfer the chicken back into the work and mix well with the sauce.  The sauce should have thickened up from the corn flour
  10. Leave to cook for 2 further minutes and turn off the heat
  11. Toss in the toasted sesame seeds
  12. Serve with steamed rice

 

Leave a Reply

