Chicken pilaf

I stumbled upon a recipe for Chicken Pilaf in Bill’s Basics cookbook earlier today.  Bill Granger’s recipe calls for apricots and pistachio.  I omitted both and added cashew nuts instead.  Whilst it is a simple recipe, it isn’t one I’d hope to attempt for a midweek meal as it took a good hour between prep and cooking the dish.

The rice has a subtle kick and the chicken was very tender.  I flash fried the chicken pieces in a frying pan after fishing them out of the pot of cooked pilaf as they looked a tad anemic and I like my chicken to have a bit of colour.

All in all, a good recipe and one I’d bookmark for weekend dinners.

 
Leave a Reply

