Chicken rendang

Another chicken recipe in the space of a week!

I was well aware that my cookbooks are gathering dust.   It’s that time of year when work is extremely busy and I wish that my mum lived down the road so that I could pop in for some home-cooked food.

After an early night and 10 hours well-deserved sleep, I awoke feeling rejuvenated this morning and was resolute about cooking something decent for our lunch today.  On the menu was chicken rendang – chicken cooked in a spicy, coconuty sauce, a vegetable stir-fry and coconut rice.

I have my own recipe for rendang, but I was in the mood for something different.  After many success with recipes from Gordon’s Great Escape South East Asia, I figured it was time I tried his rendang recipe.

The recipe entails some preparation, but once the spices are blended and ground, it’s a matter of leaving the dish to cook in the oven for a few hours while you get on with your day.  My kinda dish.

 

Leave a Reply

