Conchiglie pasta and mussels

It was a warm day, and I really fancied mussels cooked in a light broth, served with pasta shells, tomatoes, parsley, rocket and watercress.

I have to lament the lack of independent fishmongers on my local high street.  Alas, the only other option is to try my luck at the big supermarket chains.  I ventured into Sainsbury’s yesterday with the hope of finding mussels but as expected, they had run out.  I then proceeded to M&S, and the only ones I could find were pre-packed and prepped mussels in garlic and white wine.   It was either that, or something else, but nothing really grabbed me, so I checked out a pack of the aforementioned mussels and headed back home.

I sautéed some shallots and garlic, before adding in 1/2 can of chopped tomatoes and leaving it to cook for 15 minutes over a gentle heat, in a heavy-based pot.  I then emptied the pack of mussels along with its sauce into the same pot, added some freshly chopped tomatoes and left it to cook for 7-8 minutes.  I cooked about 300g of conchiglie pasta (shells) separately and added the pasta to the mussels once cooked.

Plenty of freshly ground black pepper, some salt and chopped parsley for seasoning.  A big bowl laden with mussels, shallot, tomatoes, pasta, broth and plenty of watercress and rocket.  Nothing beats freshly made sauce, but this was the next best thing.

IMG_4185

2 thoughts on “Conchiglie pasta and mussels

Leave a Reply

