Maple cream cookies

Let me begin by saying that I wasn’t happy with these cookies.   I shouldn’t have baked them.  Especially not when I’m meant to be eating healthy!  They are laden with butter and sugar.  Never mind the fact that they are tasty treats. 🙂

Some work colleagues normally bring us back maple cream cookies from their skiing holidays in Canada.  I missed out on this year’s treats as I am on baby leave.  Try as I could, I failed to get the taste of maple syrup out of my mind and therefore decided to bake them myself.  I was a woman on a mission!

I messed up the maple cream.  My weighing scale wasn’t flat on the surface and it was only later that I realised the butter/icing sugar ratio I used was incorrect.  Hubby had no complaints though.  I had to leave the cookies in the fridge for the cream to set.  Hubby was right.  These were downright delicious.  Extra cardio tomorrow!

Ingredients: (makes about 14 sandwiches)

A) Cookies

  • 100g butter, softened
  • 50g icing sugar, sifted
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup (or 1/2 tsp maple extract)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 200g plain flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder

B) Cream (ratio below is the correct one)

  • 50g butter
  • 100g icing sugar
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup

Method:

  1. To make the cookies, cream the butter, sugar, maple syrup and vanilla extract in an electric mixer until pale and fluffy
  2. Add the flour and baking powder to the butter/sugar and combine to form a dough
  3. Wrap the dough in clingfilm and leave to rest in the fridge for 20 minutes
  4. Pre-heat the oven at 180 degrees and line a baking tray with grease-proof paper
  5. Remove the dough from the fridge and place it on clean surface (or pastry mat)
  6. Remove the clingfilm and using a rolling pin, roll the dough into a disc of around 0.5cm thickness
  7. Use a cookie cutter (mine was small, diameter of 1.5 inches) to cut out the cookies and place them on the lined baking tray.  You may need to roll the dough out a few times to get the last of the cookies cut
  8. Place the baking tray in the oven and cook for 10 – 12 minutes (keeping a very close eye on them!) You should look for a golden colour on the cookies
  9. Remove the tray from the oven and leave to cool for 5 minutes, then remove the cookies and place them on a wire rack to cool for a further 10 – 15 minutes.  They need to be completely cool before you handle them next
  10. To make the cream, place the butter, sugar and maple syrup in the electric mixer and beat until pale and fluffy
  11. Transfer the cream into a piping bag (I used a basketweave nozzle)
  12. I arranged the cookies in 2 rows.  One to be creamed, and the other to put over the cream
  13. Pipe the cream onto half the cookies and top each one with a cookie
  14. Enjoy with a good cuppa!

IMG_4186

3 thoughts on “Maple cream cookies

  1. Pingback: Coffee sponge cake | Chronicles of a cookbookworm

Leave a Reply

