Light scones

The days of lingering over afternoon tea are on temporary halt (give or take 5 years) at the moment.   I do miss a good scone, topped with strawberry conserve and clotted cream, washed down with a lovely brew of Earl Grey.

Well, if I can’t get to the scones, then scones must come to me.   Armed with Rachel Allen’s recipe for light scones from her book ‘Bake’, I set myself the task of making them earlier this afternoon.   The original recipe made 10-12 scones, large ones I’m guessing.  I halved the recipe, omitted the egg and used a small cookie cutter (2″ in diameter) which yielded 8 medium scones.  Just the perfect size.    I meant to add sultanas, but was on a mission to get the scones done before the bear kicked up a fuss for having left her in her highchair for too long, and completely forgot about them!

I’ve seen Rachel make these in one of her cookery shows.   She formed a claw with her hand and quickly mixed the dough so as not to work the gluten.  Good tip as the scones were absolutely light.  Time to put the kettle on.

DSC03194

Leave a Reply

