Happy 4th anniversary, dear blog!

Four years ago, today, I googled how to start a blog after finding inspiration to do so from The Julie/Julia Project.

Funnily enough, the first few recipes I blogged weren’t the ones I found in my cookbook collection, rather, food from my childhood, whose recipes I conjured up through taste-memory.    Personal favourites are grilled tiger prawns, sambal udang (prawn in spicy sauce) and fried chicken.

The blog also exposed me to cooking shows on telly.  The Food Network, GoodFood Channel, Masterchef UK/Australia.  In turn, many new recipes were tried and tested in my kitchen, rendering Hubby the guinea-pig.   Family favourites are salmon and puy lentils, paella and lemon chicken.

Pre-blog, I don’t think I owned a spring-form pan or a tart tin.   Hubby had a slimmer waist-line (as did I, but having a baby does that to you too, that’s my excuse).   I’ve spent many delightful afternoons baking, covered in flour head-to-toe, adding butter, eggs and sugar to our weekly shopping list, shopping for baking utensils and watching endless re-runs of The Great British Bake Off.  Our favourite sweet treats are Tarte Amandine, Cocoa Brownies and Pavlova, to name a few.

More recently, the blogosphere led me to many mummy blogs, essential readings which gave me the confidence that I too can be a mum, and more importantly, one who would move mountains for her baby.   A big thank you to the ladies behind these blogs for inspiring me, from your silent reader :  Pris, Swegaporean, Brittany and Emily.

Since March last year, I’ve been covering a recurring topic on my blog – first, pregnancy, followed by the stories of our baby girl, fondly known here as the bear.   New posts are rather infrequent but I’m going to work on producing quality, rather than quantity here.

A big thank you to those who stop by at the blog to read and comment.

722 posts and counting.  Here’s to many more.  Happy 4th anniversary, dear blog.

4 thoughts on “Happy 4th anniversary, dear blog!

  1. Hey dear! 🙂 Wow, didn’t even know that you wrote about me here! So sweet of you!!! Are you Singaporean too? I have recently started reading your blog too! Could u post the recipe for the japanese curry with tofu that you wanna cook this week?

    • Hi Pris, thanks for stopping by. Not Singaporean, rather, a friendly neighbour 😉

      Melt a knob of butter in a pan, fry 1 chopped brown onion, for 3 to 4 mins, then add 2 cloves of garlic (minced), 1 inch ginger (peeled and grated) and fry for another 30 secs. Add 1 tbsp flour and 2 tbsp curry power (I use one from home, ‘Baba’s) to the pan and stir. Add 500ml to 750ml water and whisk until the flour and curry powder are combined. Add 1 large peeled apple (grated) and leave to cook for 30 mins then add 2 carrots (peeled and cut into chunks) and 1 large potato (peeled and diced/cut into chunks). Leave to cook for 20 mins. Add 1 diced courgette and 1 block of firm tofu (cut into chunks/diced as you prefer) and leave to cook for 5 mins. Season with salt and freshly ground pepper.

      This is originally a Bill Granger recipe which he cooks using pork neck and leaves it to cook for 2 to 2.5hrs. I modified it for shorter cooking time, as it suits better.

      Very mild curry, more like a stew, so if you want it stronger, then add more curry powder. Good luck and let me know how you get on.

      • Thanks for the recipe! May I ask why do you use Baba curry powder instead of Japanese curry? I have this Jap curry cubes at home and have always wondered if there was such a thing as Jap curry powder.

      • Bill Granger’s recipe calls for curry powder, and I tend to use what I have at home anyway. The Japanese curry cubes sound like a good idea, definitely worth experimenting to see what you end up with. We had the dish tonight, it was stew-y, and baby girl even had some (I removed her portion before adding salt to the pot). Let me know how you get on.

Leave a Reply

