Baby’s 1st birthday cake

Baby girl turned 1 in November.  We threw her a party and invited a few of her little friends who were similar in age.

IMG_5313

I fretted over the party food for weeks before deciding on the following combination of savoury and sweet:

  • vegetarian satay pies
  • chicken tikka and coleslaw sandwiches
  • cheddar cheese and pickled onion sandwiches
  • store-bought falafel, cucumber and cherry tomato kebabs with yoghurt dip
  • store-bought tortilla chips, chopped carrots and cucumber with hummous and salsa dips
  • cocoa brownies
  • scones with strawberry jam and clotted cream

The theme for the party was Little Miss Sunshine, and we picked all things yellow for the decorations.   I decided then that a lemon cake of some description would make the perfect birthday cake.   I found a delightful recipe for lemon and blueberry cake and whipped up a mascarpone and cream cheese frosting.   I used a batch of batter for cupcakes, and made a 3 layer cake (the middle layer being a simple vanilla sponge).   Both cupcakes and cake were a hit as was the frosting, which I could have simply eaten on its own.

IMG_5540I frosted the cake the morning of the party and ran around like a headless chicken trying to get everything organised before our guests arrived.  It was a cold, wet day and the lighting was bad for photos.  I have no photos of the inside of the cake, but it was very pretty 🙂

I doubt if I’ll be baking her birthday cakes when baby girl is older as she’d be too embarrassed about homemade cakes! But if I’m lucky enough, I may have another year or two before the shop-ordered princess cakes make their appearance.

4 thoughts on “Baby’s 1st birthday cake

Leave a Reply

