Lamb bone broth

I didn’t knew Ocado sold lamb bones until I placed an order with them over the weekend.   I made a pot of bone broth, and the timing couldn’t be better as I’m feeling under the weather.  After a week in Bordeaux, I had every intention of resuming my healthy eating plan.  Unfortunately, all good plans to do so will need to be shelved for a day or so whilst I let my body dictate to me what it needs to recuperate and recover.  For now, it is a bowl of lamb bone broth, and I added a handful of cooked egg noodles for the comfort factor.

 

Ingredients:

  • 2 litres of water
  • 500g lamb bones
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 brown onion, peeled
  • 2 cloves of garlic, peeled
  • a knob of ginger, peeled
  • 1 to 2 medium carrots, peeled and cut into chunks
  • 2 celery sticks, washed and cut into large chunks
  • a handful of whole black peppers
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 1 star anise
  • salt and freshly ground pepper to taste
  • a good handful of chopped spinach to serve

Method:

  1. Place all the ingredients, bar the spinach, in a large pot
  2. Place on the stove and simmer over a gentle heat for 3 to 4 hours.  Skim off excess fat/foam
  3. Serve with freshly chopped spinach, and if you fancy a bit of carbs, some cooked noodles would be a nice touch

IMG_6843

Leave a Reply

